RCP PD 250.1 Fault and Out 17-018

This Proposal is RECOMMENDED by the Pleasure Driving Committee.

RC#: 17-018
Rule/Article: PD 250.1
Proponent: ADS Pleasure Driving Committee
Date: posted 31May2016

Current Wording: 250.1 Fault and Out Obstacles
c. If all the obstacles are driven cleanly before the allowed time expires, the driver will begin the course again, starting with obstacle #1, without having to pass through the Start markers.
f. For the purposes of scoring, a disobedience (see Article 211, Break in Gaits) is considered a dislodgement of the attempted obstacle.
g. Going off course or dislodging a Start marker will incur elimination. Passing through the Start markers more than one time is not considered “off course.”

New Wording:

c. If all the obstacles are driven cleanly before the allowed time expires, the driver will begin the course again, starting with obstacle #1, without having to pass through the Start markers, however, passing through the Start markers more than once is not considered “off course” and is not penalized.

delete f

delete g

Reason for Change: Clarification regarding driving the Start line after completing all numbered gates once. Art 250.1.f & g are redundant. Penalties are described in Art 247

2 Response(s)

  1. MikeRider says :

    June 19, 2016

    I agree with the redundancy of g – however, I want to clarify that if a competitor incurs of disobedience penalty between say obstacles #4 and #5, then the whistle should sound – he would receive a score of 8 up to that point and if he clears #5, his score would be 9 with time taken as rear axle clears #5? This is a difference from “old” ways when the competitor would get timing taken at #6 for the aforementioned scenario if I am correct??

    1. Jeff Morse says :

      June 21, 2016

      Thanks for the comment, Mike. The rule would still read:
      e. When the allowed time expires, a disobedience occurs or an obstacle is dislodged, a signal
      will be given. The driver shall then proceed through the next consecutively numbered
      obstacle. The time will be taken when the rear axle clears this obstacle. If that obstacle
      is cleared, one point is scored. If it is dislodged, no points for that dislodged obstacle are
      scored, but the time is still taken.

      So, yes, in your scenario, a signal would be given at the disobedience penalty. The driver would drive the next gate where time would be taken. No points if it is dislodged but still a time is taken.

Comments are closed.