RCP2014#76 – Failing to pass through Start or Finish Lines

2014 RCP #
76
Summary
Update Hitch/Unhitch sequence for singles
Date Received
01Jun13
Proponent
Keith Yutzy
Change Date
Next Rulebook
Status
Closed for comments: 01Sep13
Recommended for Approval: 15Sep13
Activity
Initial Posting: 01Jun13

Current Wording – Article 957.2 Summary of Penalties in Competition C

  1. Failing to pass through Start or Finish Lines
    (Article 956.1.2 and Article 956.1.9) – Elimination

Suggested Wording – Article 957.2 Summary of Penalties in Competition C

  1. Failing to pass through Start or Finish Lines
    (Article 956.1.9) – Elimination

Add 957.1.3

  1. Driving through any Obstacle before crossing the Start Line.
    (Article 956.1.4) – Fault Competition: 10 Penalites and Restart, Timed Competition: 10 Seconds and Restart

Reason for change

To correct wording in Article 957.2 to match what is stated in Articles 956.1.4 and 956.1.9.

7 Response(s)

  1. Ted Campbell says :

    August 6, 2013

    I agree.

  2. hoofnit says :

    August 6, 2013

    I support the recommended wording change so there is consistency across the rules.

  3. Iris says :

    August 13, 2013

    I support this change.

  4. raymansur says :

    August 19, 2013

    Agree

  5. Zantke says :

    August 21, 2013

    1. The reference in the summary is wrong. 2. This is a change to the FEI rules, which are not in our jurisdiction. Accordingly I do not support this RCS to the ADS. I should be addressed to the FEI – and it fails to include the currently correct reference to Art 956.1.2
    hardy

  6. daves says :

    August 25, 2013

    Keith, we’ve discussed this before. If there is no corresponding reference in the body of rules confirming that “failure to pass through start” is elimination, then why can’t the summary in 957.1.2 be the authority? 957 is part of the rules. Barring that, as Hardy says, we need an ADS exception calling for “E” in that situation.

    Your 956.1.3 would need to be an exception as written IF you want the penalty not to be “E”. Personally, I think the penalty should be “E” for not going through the start just as not going through the finish.

    Support with changes.

  7. rules says :

    August 30, 2013

    On behalf of Audrey Bostwick:

    No – summary is incorrect

Comments are closed.