RCP2014#60 – Participating more than once

2014 RCP #
60
Summary
Participating more than once
Date Received
01Jun13
Proponent
Pleasure Driving Committee
Change Date
Next Rulebook
Status
Closed for comments – 01Sep13
Activity
Initial Posting: 01Jun13
PDC – Recommended: 31July13

Current Wording – Article 46 Participation

  1. A driver may not compete more than once in the same obstacle class or in classes which use the same course.
  2. A horse may not be entered more than once in the same obstacle class or in classes which use the same course.
    Exception: At the discretion of the Organizer, a horse that has competed in a single turnout on a course may compete on the same course when put to a multiple turnout, i.e. pair, tandem, four- in-hand, etc.
  3. A person who rides as a groom/passenger with one entry may not compete as a driver in the same class or in any class using the same course.

Suggested Wording – Article 46 Participation

  • A driver may not compete more than once in the same obstacle class or in classes which use the same course.
  •  A horse may not be entered more than once in the same obstacle class or in classes which use the same course.
    Exception: At the discretion of the Organizer, a horse that has competed in a single turnout on a course may compete on the same course when put to a multiple turnout, i.e. pair, tandem, four- in-hand, etc.
  • A person who rides as a groom/passenger with one entry may not compete as a driver in the same class or in any class using the same course.

Replace with:

  1. A horse may not be entered more than once in the same obstacle class.
  2. A groom/passenger may compete as a driver on the same course.

Reason for change

The advantages gained are more perception, than reality. May increase participation.

5 Response(s)

  1. MikeRider says :

    August 5, 2013

    I have mixed feelings here – as a show organizer I have struggled with the requirement to change obstacle courses for different divisions for many years. I also know that if the same horse is driven by the same driver over the same course, there is undoubtedly an advantage on the second and subsequent times through the course.

  2. MikeRider says :

    August 19, 2013

    Okay – I’ll admit it, I’m very confused on this one – your proposal is that the driver may drive the same course more than once, but the horse may not? Not even as a member of a multiple? I think that if a horse goes as a wheeler in a four-in-hand and then the driver’s grandchild wants to show the horse as a single, it should be allowed. Just my opinion.

  3. CaroleSweet says :

    August 28, 2013

    By not specifying that a driver can only compete once in an obstacle class (old rule), does that mean that now he can since it won’t specify that he can’t?
    The groom/passenger…..can compete on the same course, but does this mean in the same class (course) as with a different driver, or only in an entirely different class that uses the same course?
    Wording…..leaves out more than what it specifies…

  4. RhinehartM says :

    August 30, 2013

    Ok, I had to decipher this RCS. The horse can’t be in the same CLASS, so that must mean he can use the same course in a different class, hence in a multiple. However, he can’t be driven by say one kid and then the other kid in Junior Cones. He could, however, be in Novice Pony and Open Pony on the same course? A groom can compete as a driver, but can a driver compete as a driver on the same course in a different class, or in the same class with a different horse?

    I agree with the theory, but the wording may need some tweaking so we can eliminate the TD and Judges’ interpretations of the rules.

  5. rules says :

    August 30, 2013

    On behalf of Audrey Bostwick:

    Yes

Comments are closed.