This Proposal is RECOMMENDED by the Pleasure Driving Committee.
Rule/Article: PD 250.3 Clarify
Proponent: ADS Pleasure Driving Committee
Date: posted 25Jan16
Current Wording: e. No points will be awarded for an incorrectly completed obstacle. If the obstacle is incorrectly driven, but not disturbed, it may be attempted again.
New Wording: e. No points will be awarded for an incorrectly driven obstacle. If the obstacle is incorrectly driven, but not disturbed, it may be attempted again.
Reason for Change: Housekeeping clarification
MikeRider says :June 19, 2016
This is great; however, my question is always – say a person attempts an obstacle (example: circle) – but does not complete it – they have driven it incorrectly – may they attempt it twice more or only one more time for points? If they drive it correctly on their second attempt are they able to attempt it a third time for points?
Jeff Morse says :June 21, 2016
The rule says:
c. After passing through the Start markers, the driver may drive through the obstacles, in
any order, from any direction. Each obstacle may be driven twice, but not in succession. If
driven a third time, no points will be awarded.
If an obstacle is incorrectly driven, no points awarded. In effect, the obstacle has not yet been driven, so I would say they can *attempt* it as many times as they wish and they can do it in succession. However. they can only *correctly* drive it twice (not in succession) for points. And of course, each time they attempt it, the clock is running.
We would your suggestion for making this clearer.
Comments are closed.